Date #2 AKA The Student


#2’s STATS

Age:  25

Height:  5’10

Ethnicity: Caucasian

Job:  Student

Kids: None                Wants:  Maybe

Drinks: Occasionally

Smokes: No

Single for:  ??

PRE-DATE

I run into a graduate student and find him pretty cute and interesting from his profile.  We chat.  He’s super serious which I get.  He’s about school right now and that’s kind of a turn on.  I told him that I like horror movies and he said he wasn’t into them and preferred romantic comedies instead.  When I told him I wanted to use horror movies as an excuse to cuddle with him it went right over his head (TWICE).  Maybe it was because he knew there was going to be no cuddling anytime soon… So of course I wouldn’t hold it against him.  He’s 25 and has his stuff together.

Before planning our date, he told me that he had a lazy eye and that I should be aware of his condition.  It didn’t bother me.  Lazy eye big whoop.

THE FIRST IMPRESSION

We met outside a restaurant that he frequents.  He was dressed in a college shirt and shorts with flip flops and looked like he just rolled out of bed.  I wore my favorite jeans with a cute halter styled top in an effort to look casually cute.  I thought he wasn’t that excited about meeting me although he smiled because he put zero effort in his presentation.  Then, there was the eye.  Well, the eyes.  They weren’t as lazy as I thought because they were dancing and I didn’t know which to look directly at.  I didn’t want him to feel self-conscious so I quickly turned so we could go into the restaurant.

THE DATE

We sat down and immediately started talking.  I was a little nervous at first because he was majorly cute and his profile didn’t lie too much (he actually said 6’0 and came in about my dad’s height at 5’10 – Maybe I should get used to this height lie).  I talked so much I didn’t realize that the waitress came twice for our order.  Finally I shut up and tried to pick something as quickly as possible.  I must have initially been a good conversationalist because he continued to ask me questions as I ate my meal.

By the time I finished eating, I was beyond the eye condition and ready to talk more.  So much of our conversation was about school that I was starting to feel anxious as if I had a test coming up.  I tried to stir the conversation into something less serious but it seemed to make him shut down more.  Great.  All work, no play…

The check came, he paid and graciously might I add.

I PICTURED OUR FUTURE TO BE

Him working constantly.  Me waiting at home in sexy lingerie with a glass of wine in one hand and a steak in another.  Him coming home and seeing that and asking me why I don’t have any clothes on.  He takes the steak and wine and goes and sit at the table eating the steak and drinking the wine as if I weren’t there.  Oh God, I’ve become Kathy Bates’ character in Fried Green Tomatoes.  Hopefully my only friend won’t be Jessica Tandy.

WHAT I LIKED ABOUT HIM

Hmmm….  He’s a student and loves his future career.

WHAT I DIDN’T LIKE ABOUT HIM

He’s a serious hard core student and can’t pick up on flirting if it hit him in the face.  He spends so much time in his work when it’s time to play he doesn’t know how to let go.

WHAT I LEARNED ABOUT MYSELF

I can’t be the teacher.  I’m not looking for a student.

Leave a Reply

